HERTFORDSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

THE COUNTY COUNCIL

SUMMONS AND AGENDA

for an Extraordinary Meeting of the County Council to be held on Tuesday, 23 May 2017 at 2.00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, County Hall, Hertford for the purpose set out below.

PART I (PUBLIC) AGENDA

1. MINUTES

To defer consideration of the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the County Council, held at 10.00am on 23 May 2017, to the next meeting of the County Council on 18 July 2017.

2. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN FOR HERTFORDSHIRE

In 2009 the County Council adopted the principle of appointing Honorary Aldermen. To that end the Chairman has called an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council to be held at 2.00pm on 23 May 2017 for the purpose of making further appointments.

Under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the County Council may "confer the title of Honorary Aldermen on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past members of that Council". Thus, the title can only be conferred upon past members of the Council who are not councillors at the date of the meeting.

Any such appointment must be made by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting thereon at a special meeting of the Council.

Honorary Aldermen are entitled to attend and take part in such civic ceremonies as the Council may from time to time decide. They do not have any specific right to participate in the ordinary business of the Council.

The Council is now invited to consider appointing further Honorary Aldermen for Hertfordshire as follows:

Roger Hugh Beeching

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Roger Hugh Beeching be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 2009 to 2017 including his service from 2015 to 2017 as Vice-Chairman of the County Council.

(F Button to move the above)

Geoffrey Roy Churchard

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Geoffrey Roy Churchard be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 1997 to 2017.

(S B A F H Giles-Medhurst to move the above)

Aislinn Lee

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Aislinn Lee be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services she has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of her duties as a member of the County Council from 1993 to 2017.

(S B A F H Giles-Medhurst to move the above)

John Lloyd

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 John Lloyd be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 1981 to 1989 and again from 2005 to 2017.

(J Billing to move the above)

Peter Alan Ruffles

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Peter Alan Ruffles be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 2001 to 2017 including his service from 2013 – 2014 as Vice-Chairman of the County Council.

(R H Smith to move the above)

Alan Maurice Ronald Searing

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Alan Maurice Ronald Searing be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 1997 to 2017.

(R I N Gordon to move the above)

KATHRYN PETTITT CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER Full copies of all reports may be found on the internet at link https://cmis.hertsdirect.org/hertfordshire/CabinetandCommittees.aspx